March 2, 2024

Andrew Mangiapane of the Calgary Flames was one of 24 restricted free agents to file for salary arbitration by the July 17 deadline, according to the NHL Players Association.

The 26-year-old forward set NHL career highs in goals (35), assists (20) and points (55) in 82 regular season games last season. Had six points (three goals, three assists) in 12 Stanley Cup Playoff games.

Notable players who took part include forwards Jesper Bratt (New Jersey Devils), Kailer Yamamoto (Edmonton Oilers) and Mason Appleton (Winnipeg Jets).

The deadline for notification of the club’s salary arbitration was July 18. The Flames applied Matthew Tkachuk before trading him to the Florida Panthers on Friday, after which he agreed to an eight-year contract. The New Jersey Devils have filed for arbitration with a forward Miles Wood.

Wage arbitration hearings began Tuesday and will run through Aug. 11. A player may sign a contract with his current team at any time prior to his audition.

Defender Niko Mikkola filed for arbitration but signed a one-year contract with the St. Louis Blues on July 17 to avoid a hearing.

Goalkeeper Kaapo Kahkonen signed a two-year contract with the San Jose Sharks on July 18 to avoid a hearing and a goalie Vitek Vanecek signed a three-year contract with the Devils on July 19.

Forward Kasperi Kapanen signed a two-year contract with the Penguins on July 21 to avoid a hearing scheduled for July 30.

Forward Morgan Geekie agreed to a one-year contract with the Seattle Kraken on July 24 to avoid a hearing scheduled for August 11. forward Isak Ludestrom signed a two-year contract with the Anaheim Ducks on July 25. and forward Jesse Puljujarvi signed a one-year contract with the Oilers on July 26.

Forward Mathieu Joseph agreed to a four-year contract with the Ottawa Senators on July 28.

Last offseason, 17 restricted free agents filed for arbitration and two were scheduled for a team-elected hearing. each agreed to enter into a contract before the hearing date.

Here is the list of players who filed for salary arbitration (hearing dates in parentheses):

Anaheim Ducks

Isac Lundestrom, F (signed on July 25)

Arizona coyotes

Lawson CrouseF (August 8)

Boston Bruins

Pavel ZahaF (August 11)

Calgary Flames

Oliver KylingtonD (signed on August 2) Andrew MangiapaneF (August 5); Matthew PhillipsF (signed on July 23) Matthew Tkachuk, F (club elected; traded to the Panthers, agreed to sign a contract on July 22)

Carolina Hurricanes

Ethan BarrD (signed on July 28) Maxime LajoieD (August 9)

Detroit Red Wings

Jake WallmanD (August 11)

Edmonton Oilers

Jesse Puljujarvi, F (signed on July 26) Kailer Yamamoto, F (August 7)

Nashville Predators

Jacob TreninF (August 2)

New Jersey Devils

Jesper Bratt, F (Aug. 3); Tyce ThompsonF (signed on August 11) Vitek VanecekC (signed July 19)Miles Wood (selected club, August 6)

Ottawa Senators

Mathieu Joseph, F (agreed to sign a contract on July 28)

Philadelphia Flyers

Zack MacEwenF (signed on August 2)

Pittsburgh Penguins

Kasperi Kapanen, F (signed on July 21)

San Jose Sharks

Kaapo KahkonenG (signed on July 18) Steven LorenzF (signed on July 22)

Seattle Kraken

Morgan GeekieF (agreed to sign a contract on July 24)

St. Louis Blues

Niko MikkolaD (signed on July 17)

Vegas Golden Knights

Keegan KolesarF (August 10)

Winnipeg Jets

Mason Appleton, F (Aug. 11)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *