September 28, 2022

The United States will play Germany in one of three games Tuesday on the first day of the 2022 IIHF World Junior Championship in Edmonton.

The tournament will be held August 9-20, with all matches at Rogers Place.

Each game will be televised on NHL Network in the United States and TSN in Canada.

The tournament was originally scheduled for Dec. 26-Jan. 5 in Edmonton and Red Deer, Alberta. After four days of play, the tournament was postponed on December 29 due to concerns surrounding the coronavirus.

Players who were eligible for the elite under-20 international tournament in December remained eligible for the rescheduled tournament, regardless of whether they had turned 20. Results and statistics from December matches will not count when the tournament starts.

The United States won the 2021 WJC, defeating Canada in the championship match. The last team to win back-to-back tournaments was Canada, who won five in a row from 2005-09.

Canada will play its first qualifying round match against Latvia on Wednesday.

Ten teams will play in the WJC. The United States will be in Group B for the qualifying round, along with Sweden, Germany, Switzerland and Austria. Group A consists of Canada, Finland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Latvia.

Latvia was added to replace Russia, which has been banned from international games due to its invasion of Ukraine.

The top four teams in each group advance to the quarter-finals, which will take place on August 17. The semi-finals are on August 19 and the championship and third place games will be on August 20.

There will be no relegation round, meaning the same 10 teams will play in the 2023 WJC, which will be held Dec. 26-Jan. 5, 2023 in Halifax, Nova Scotia and Moncton, New Brunswick.


August 9
Czech Republic vs. Slovakia, 2 p.m. ET
Latvia vs. Finland, 6 p.m. ET
United States vs. Germany 10 p.m. ET

August 10
Sweden vs. Switzerland, 2 p.m. ET
Latvia vs. Canada, 6 p.m. ET
Germany vs. Austria, 10 p.m. ET

August 11
Finland vs. Czech Republic, 2 p.m. ET
Slovakia vs. Canada, 6 p.m. ET
Switzerland vs. United States, 10 p.m. ET

August 12
Austria vs. Sweden, 2 p.m. ET
Slovakia vs. Latvia, 6 p.m. ET

August 13
Austria vs. United States, 2 p.m. ET
Canada vs. Czech Republic, 6 p.m. ET
Germany vs. Switzerland, 10 p.m. ET

August 14
Finland vs. Slovakia, 2 p.m. ET
Czech Republic vs. Latvia, 6 p.m. ET
United States vs. Sweden, 10 p.m. ET

15th of August
Switzerland vs. Austria, 2 p.m. ET
Canada vs. Finland, 6 p.m. ET
Sweden vs. Germany, 10 p.m. ET

August 17
Quarterfinal 1, 12 p.m. ET
Quarterfinal 2, 3:30 p.m. ET
Quarterfinal 3, 7 p.m. ET
Quarterfinal 4, 10:30 p.m. ET

August 19
Semifinal 1, 4 p.m. ET
Semifinal 2, 8 p.m. ET

August 20
Third-place game, 4 p.m. ET
Championship game, 8 p.m. ET

I hear: New episode of NHL Draft Class

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.